Limitations for Filing a Claim
Many injured individuals may not realize that there are time limitations on how long they can wait before filing a legal claim. This is known as the statute of limitations, and it varies from state to state. After the time set in the statute of limitations passes, individuals cannot file a claim against whoever caused them harm, regardless of the reasons behind the incident. However, there are certain circumstances that may affect these limits.
If you have sustained an injury from a car accident that occurred due to another party’s negligent actions, contact the Waukesha auto accident attorneys of Habush Habush & Rottier S.C. ®, today at 800-242-2874 for a free consultation.
Filing a Claim in Wisconsin
In Wisconsin, the statute of limitations depends on the injury sustained by the claimant. The state has different time periods for injuries caused because of intentional, malicious actions and incidents of negligence. These limitations work as follows:
- In cases of intentional injury, the limit is set at 2 years from the date of injury
- In cases of negligence, the limit is set at 3 years from the date of injury
- In cases of a defective product, the limit is set at 3 years from the date of injury
In addition to these fixed numbers, the state provides some leniency if a claimant has not yet discovered his or her injuries. Known as the discovery rule, a claimant’s time limit does not start until they have figured out that they were injured. However, if a claimant reasonably should have noticed their injury, the time limit begins when they should have discovered the injury.
For a free consultation regarding your legal rights and options as an accident victim, contact the Waukesha car accident lawyers of Habush Habush & Rottier S.C. ®, by calling 800-242-2874. Let our compassionate legal advisors assist you today.